Guidance‎ > ‎

Scholarship Bulletin


UW-Superior Foundation Scholarships-Numerous awards are given to incoming freshman students on the basis of academic merit, intended major, and other criteria.  Some scholarships are renewable for an additional three years if the specified criteria continue to met.  The award amounts vary, based on the nature of the scholarship fund.  Scholarships are made possible through the generosity of the many alumni and friends of UW-Superior.

Duluth Teachers Credit Union will be awarding four $1,000 scholarships to area high school seniors moving on to college.  Applications and complete guidelines are available at and in the Denfeld Guidance office.  For scholarship applications to be considered student must be a DTCU member by the scholarship application deadline.  Deadline for applying is March 27, 2015.

Jack Moon Scholarship.  Applicants must plan to enroll full-time undergraduate course of study accredited two year or vocational-technical school for the upcoming year in Minnesota. Wisconsin, or Michigan.  This is a great opportunity for students who will be going to LSC, UWS, WITC, Fond du Lac, etc.  Eligible students may apply on line at  Must be postmarked by January 15.

James Wright Hunt Scholarship.  Applicants must plan to enroll full-time at any branch of the University of Minnesota, Carleton College or the University of Michigan.  Applicants must apply online at .  The application for this scholarship must be postmarked no later than January 15, 2015.  

The Minnesota Women’s Golf Association (MWGA) Foundation Scholarship is offering a scholarship to graduating senior girls.  The scholarship is for the amount of $3,000 per year, renewable for four consecutive years which total $12,000.  Although the skill or excellence in the game of golf is not a criterion, candidates shall demonstrate an involvement in the sport.   Application deadline is March 31, 2015 .  Applications can be found in the Denfeld Guidance office.

Alert magazine is offering a $500 scholarship to graduating seniors (for the furtherance of their education) which is awarded to the student who writes the best essay concerning drug or alcohol abuse and its prevention.  No application is required, but all instructions listed on the flyer that is locating in the Denfeld Guidance office must be followed for the essay to be eligible.

Marquerite Gilmore Family Scholarship. Applicants must be in the upper 8th percentile of their graduating class. Must demonstrate traits of high personal character and leadership.  

Kiwanis Educational Foundation $865 Award Scholarship.  Only three applications per school.  Applicants must be a graduate from a high school in Minnesota, North Dakota or South Dakota: and Superior Wisconsin, and must attend a college or university located in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota or Superior, Wisconsin.  Applications are available in the Guidance office.  Application deadline is January 23, 2015.  

The Model College of Hair Design in St, Cloud is issuing two cosmetology advancement scholarship/grants worth $2,0000.  If interested you must come to the Guidance office to get the award letter. The validate the you have to visit the cmust plan to enroll full-time in an undergraduate study of teaching, business or engineering at an accredited four-year college or vocational-technical school in the US for the entire upcoming academic year.  Applicants must apply online at  Applicants must submit their applications and accompanying materials by mail with a postmark no later than January 15, 2015.

Minnesota Power’s Community Involvement Scholarship.  Minnesota power’s Community Involvement Scholarship is awarded to twenty area students in recognition of their volunteer efforts in their communities..  Apply online at .  All applications must be received by January 15, 2015.

2015 GE-Reagan Foundation Scholarship Program. They are looking for Leadership, Drive, integrity, Citizenship.  Recipients receive $10,000 renewable scholarships-up to $40,000 per student.  Apply online through or  Deadline is January 8, 2015.

Robert Hermans Harbortown Rotary Scholarship awards $2.000 each year to area students who are candidates for admissions to any fully accredited degree granting college or university .  Last year, a total of six scholarships were awarded on the basis of character, demonstrated community involvement, leadership and academic ability.  Financial need is not a requirement.  Students must submit the application form (available in the guidance office or on the website), two references and a copy of their transcript through their first semester of their senior year.  The transcript must include standardized test scores.  The deadline is March 1, 2015.

Emile H Mathis and Ronald Joseph Mathis Scholarship.  Both awards are dedicated to students majoring in Art at the Univ. of Wisconsin-Superior.  Awards for 2015 will be between $500 and $750 for each.  The application (one for both) is due by January 15, 2015 and can be completed at

William E. Barto Scholarship Pays up to $2000/year for four years to UMD or UWS Art or Visual Arts majors.  Find the details and an application at the Duluth Area Community Foundation website.  Deadline January 15, 2015

The Clayton Jackson McGhie, Memorial, Inc. Board of Directors is pleased to announce that it is now taking applications for its tenth annual scholarship for high school seniors who plan to attend a technical school, community college, or four year university in the Fall of 2015.  Students of color are especially encouraged to apply.  Application are due on March 1, 2015.  Please go to www.claytonjacksonmeghie to download copies of the 2015 application.

Alworth Scholarships-Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund providing $20,0000 Scholarships in Science and Math since 1949. For more information and to apply:   

Web Denfeld,
Dec 10, 2014, 5:48 AM